Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Edward Rogers' Porcelain To Be Released In The UK + MP3

New York based Brit, Edward Rogers will be releasing his latest album, Porcelain, in the UK & Europe on April 2 via Bucketfull of Brains. The record was released this past November here in the US via Zip Records. Scroll down to the bottom of the post and check out the video for the title track which features footage from Bond film Moonraker. You can also grab the song in our MP3 Grab at the bottom of the post.

“The title of the album,” explains Rogers, “directly reflects the emotions represented in the songs and my mood during the writing process – rage, love, broken friendships, good days, bad days…fun days.”

Rogers explains the track in his own words: "I once met a very young, very sick girl who was put in foster care because her family couldn't afford to take care of her. I couldn't get her off my mind. She made me think of the fact that life is so delicate, so vulnerable and breakable... like porcelain. That young girl and the challenges she was going to face was the inspiration for 'Porcelain.'"

MP3 Grab:

For more quirky ramblings, drop by Quirky NY Chick.

Saturday, March 3, 2012

Soulsavers Set To Release New Album In May

Soulsavers, the team of Rich Machin and Ian Glover, are scheduled to release their new album on May 22. The Light The Dead See will be released via Mute Records in North America. The album features vocal and lyrics by Depeche Mode's Dave Gahan.

Soulsavers – the music and production team of Rich Machin and Ian Glover – have been a growing force since 2003’s debut Tough Guys Don’t Dance. 2007’s It’s Not How Far You Fall, It’s The Way You Land brought their dark flair to a wider audience. The inimitable Mark Lanegan served as primary singer, though there were also vocal contributions from Will Oldham and Jimi Goodwin. In 2009, third album Broken confirmed that Soulsavers were moving away from early electronica to earthier guitars, use of space and what Machin described as “a soulful twist”. Lanegan again led the vocals on standouts such as ‘You Will Miss Me When I Burn’ and ‘All The Way Down’, with other guest vocalists including Oldham again, Jason Pierce, Richard Hawley, Mike Patton and Gibby Haynes. Clearly, there was no shortage of acclaimed singers ready to lend their lungs to Soulsavers’ stirring, seductive, soothing or startling creations.

Gahan’s lyrics and melodies came to him with spontaneity and passion. “About five songs in, I realized I was writing outside myself. I was having a go at myself, to be honest: my questions around faith, and God, or the lack thereof at any given moment. Sometimes I’m full of faith, but there are always questions. And I struggle with letting go of control of what’s going on around me. This album became very therapeutic. No restrictions. Coming out of getting sick myself, I found I HAD to get this stuff out of me. This music gave me the perfect palate to play with the BIG questions that we all ask when life becomes less about what can we GET, than: what can we DO? I’ve been very fortunate, and I’m privileged in my life, so I want to do things I feel really connected to now, otherwise there’s no point. Rich and I had both come out of something difficult. This is something to do with that. It was a wonderful experience.”

Track Listing
  • La Ribera
  • In The Morning
  • Longest Day
  • Presence of God
  • Just Try
  • Gone Too Far
  • Point Sur Pt. 1
  • Take Me Back Home
  • Bitterman
  • I Can’t Stay
  • Take
  • Tonight

For more quirky ramblings, drop by Quirky NY Chick.